CRAFTOVISION
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
CRAFTOVISION

A show dedicated to DIY culture featuring tutorials, cool places and cool people.

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Repurposed jacket

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Gwenyver-Costumes

Gwenyver-Costumes

Repurposed jacket Empty
PostSubject: Repurposed jacket   Repurposed jacket EmptyWed Sep 28, 2011 7:04 pm

Hiya!

I work in the fashion business and I see an incredible amount of samples being thrown out because they were taken apart to check their construction, punched for the fabric,s weight or just plain mutilated (a small cut a the back) to save on shipping. I don't like seeing so much waste, so generally, I try to save these samples from the garbage bin, I fix them up and give them to charity. It works well with pants anyways.

But I have a bunch of women's business jackets with either lining missing, hole punched through the back and/or sleeves taken apart, nd I am looking for ideas on what to do with them. Any ideas?

Thanks a bunch!
Back to top Go down
http://costumeholic.blogspot.com/

Repurposed jacket Empty
PostSubject: Re: Repurposed jacket   Repurposed jacket EmptyThu Sep 29, 2011 9:41 am

Jackets ay...

-Waistcoats for those with no arms
-those without lining - add lining or give to charity without. You can buy plenty of jackets in high street shops that have no lining
-Give to a textiles class at a local college?

Out of interest - what do you mean they put holes in the back? why?
Back to top Go down
Gwenyver-Costumes

Gwenyver-Costumes

Repurposed jacket Empty
PostSubject: Re: Repurposed jacket   Repurposed jacket EmptyThu Sep 29, 2011 12:25 pm

PinUpRetro wrote:
Out of interest - what do you mean they put holes in the back? why?